Reading makes you pretty!

Image

Still Alice
 by Lisa Genova 
“Fifty-year-old Alice Howland, a Harvard professor of cognitive psychology, is at the top of her game. Her kids are grown, her marriage secure, her career on fire when suddenly, after mere months of forgetfulness, she finds herself in the rapidly downward spiral of early onset Alzheimer’s Disease.
With no cure or treatment, Alice struggles to find meaning and purpose in her everyday life as her concept of self gradually slips away, leaving her unable to work, read, take care of herself, recognize her loved ones—even understand that she has a neurodegenerative disease. Without memory or hope, she is forced to live in the moment, which is in turns beautiful, terrifying, and maddening.
Genova uses the successful, articulate, and independent Alice as the perfect vehicle to capture what it feels like to literally lose your mind. You’ll admire Alice’s strength and resourcefulness even as you cry over her losses. Still Alice brings new understanding for all those affected by this terrible neurological disease”. 
Summary from  http://books.simonandschuster.com

I saw a review for this book about a month ago in a little shop by the beach. The three sentence review immediately intrigued me and I was disappointed to find that the shop was all out of copies. I put the title and author into the “notes” section of my phone and forgot about it… until last week. At another little beach book shop, I saw the novel tucked between the world of Nicholas Sparks. I held it in my hand for a good number of seconds before remembering and screaming “THIS IS IT!” to Taylor who basically remembered right away. Now that I’ve completed the novel, I’m kind of nervous about my lapse in memory. In a nutshell Still Alice is about a woman with early onset Alzheimer’s Disease. (Funny… I can spell ‘alzheimer’s’ but I had trouble with ‘disease’… oh well). I’m only 23, so I’m not really sure what about this book would have sparked my interest and why reading it was important to me. Lisa Genova has her PHD in Neuroscience from Harvard. Being an author wasn’t her dream or first career path, but GOLLY it should have been!  She writes with such passion! Genova detailed her characters beautifully giving them qualities that would relate them to people you come in contact with every day. She touches on the fact that Alzheimer’s Disease is something that is typically taboo to talk about. I feel as if I learned so much about the disease from this little novel and have gained a whole new appreciation for people with the disorder and family members behind the people struggling with it. I typically read novels that I love about 5 times (or more) and I can tell that this is one I will be reading over and over. 
One of the main reasons why Still Alice was so good, it that it came from the perspective of the person suffering from the disease herself. Alice’s descent into Alzheimer’s was realistic and very sad. I would recommend this novel to anyone at any age. Genova provides readers not only with an insight into the disease but a story of family resilience. 

Go! READ IT! Love it!
Tell me what you thought about it.  ❤

xoxoxo Lynn

One thought on “Reading makes you pretty!

  1. I read this book last summer and loved it. Even though it was incredibly sad, heartbreaking, and just all around depressing, I couldn’t put it down. I also feel like I’ve learned more about Alzheimer’s through reading this book than I have learned in any of my Psychology classes thus far. Such a great read!

Leave a Reply

